Brother J. O. Underwood was filled with the Holy Ghost in the year of 1913 in East St. Louis, Illinois. He was ordained May 15, 1915 in East St. Louis, Illinois. In 1920 he received the revelation of baptism in Jesus Name as was re-baptized by Rev. George Dauer.
In October of 1922, Brother and Sister Underwood and family accepted the pastorate of the First Pentecostal Church of Belleville, Illinois. Brother Underwood pastored this church until December of 1956, when he resigned because of ill health.
The Oneness Apostolic Pentecostal experience was introduced in Belleville Illinois by Rev. J. O. Underwood in 1922. The name of the church was later named Bethel Temple and is now known as Christ the King Apostolic Church. Many ministers came out of this church as a result of Brother Underwood's work, among them Rev. M.J. Wolff, Rev. James Gardner, Rev. Carl Froese and Rev. Paul Froese.
Click this link to view copy of a page from "Our Pentecostal Heritage" from the Illinois District of the United Pentecostal Church concerning Rev. Underwood. This book was published around 1962 or 1963.